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Preface

This publication is an addendum to Occupational Regulation in Texas, which was published by the Texas Legislative Council in October 2008
(http://www.tlc.state.tx.us/pubspol/OccReg.pdf).  To facilitate comparisons with information in that publication, Table 1 of this addendum, 
for licenses that were in existence in fi scal year 2007, refl ects the number of active licenses, fee amounts, and state revenue from fees for 
fi scal year 2007.  Licenses that were created after fi scal year 2007 are included in the table, but the number of licenses and revenue from 
fees are not provided.  Table 2 of this addendum refl ects penalties that were in effect for fi scal year 2007.

v





Table 1

Occupational Licenses in Texas
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department



Explanation of Table 1

Type of License
The term “license” also includes other occupational, professional, and business authorizations, such as permits and export fees.

Description
The description sets out the authority of the license holder, including any limitations.

Code Chapter
Code chapter references are to the Parks and Wildlife Code.  If licensing requirements are set out in the Texas Administrative Code (T.A.C.) instead 

of in Texas statutes, the rule number is provided.  Unless noted otherwise, a reference to “department” refers to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department 
and a reference to “commission” refers to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission.

Number of Active Licenses (FY 07)
This number may include licenses that have expired but are eligible for renewal; it excludes inactive licenses.

Fees
Unless noted otherwise, license fees are paid annually and also may apply to renewal applications.  Different fees for resident and nonresident 

licenses are shown as (R) and (N).  Section 47.001(12), Parks and Wildlife Code, defi nes “resident” as an individual who has resided continuously in 
Texas for more than six months immediately before applying to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department for a license.  Most fees for licenses issued 
by the department were increased by rule in 2009 (34 Tex. Reg. 5381).

State Revenue from Fees (FY 07)
This amount may refl ect commissions paid by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department to retailers who sell certain licenses and transaction charges 

as specifi ed.

Year First Regulated
This date is the year in which legislation was enacted or an administrative rule was adopted that required a specifi c occupation to be licensed by 

the State of Texas.  Where licensing requirements are provided only by administrative rule, the year provided refl ects the year fi rst regulated under the 
current rule number; an earlier version of the rule may exist but that history is not provided in the Texas Administrative Code.



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
(FY 07)

Fees
State Revenue 

from Fees
(FY 07)

Year First 
Regulated

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
Aerial management permit Authorizes holder to count, photograph, relocate, 

capture, or hunt wildlife or exotic animals by the 
use of aircraft on land named in the landowner’s 
authorization.

43 76 $2001 $15,200 19732

Alligator dealer’s permit, retail Authorizes holder to purchase an alligator only 
from a valid wholesale dealer or lawful out-of-
state source and sell processed alligator parts 
such as skulls, feet, or teeth.3 The holder may 
sell legally obtained and documented processed 
alligators only to consumers.  A permit is required 
for each place of business, mobile or permanent, 
where activities that require such a permit are 
conducted.

65 1 (R)
0 (N)

$120 (R)
$480 (N)

$120 (R)
$0 (N) 

19974

Alligator dealer’s permit, 
wholesale

Authorizes holder to sell legally obtained and 
documented processed alligators to anyone and 
legally obtained and documented unprocessed 
alligators only to another wholesale dealer or to an 
alligator farmer.  The holder may purchase legally 
taken alligators from any hunter, dealer, farmer, 
import permit holder, or control hunter.

65 7 (R)
1 (N)

$240 (R)
$960 (N)

$1,680 (R)
$960 (N)

19974

Alligator export fee Authorizes a person to export a live alligator from 
Texas.

65 4,558 $4, unless 
alligator is 
accompanied 
by a valid 
department-
issued hide 
tag5

$18,232 20034

3



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
(FY 07)

Fees
State Revenue 

from Fees
(FY 07)

Year First 
Regulated

Alligator farmer permit Authorizes holder to purchase live or dead 
alligators from a farmer, wholesale dealer, 
hunter, or control hunter, and alligator eggs 
from an egg collector.  The holder may sell live 
alligators to another farmer or to the holder of 
certain permits for scientifi c research, zoological 
collection, rehabilitation, and educational display 
and lawfully documented, unprocessed, dead 
alligators only to a wholesale dealer or another 
farmer. 

65 20 $240 $4,800 1984

Alligator import permit Authorizes holder to import a live alligator into 
Texas after notifying the department not less 
than 24 hours or more than 48 hours before each 
instance of importation.  No import fee is required 
if the alligator was taken in another state under a 
sport hunting license.

65 6 $100 $6786,7,8 19974

Bait dealer’s license, individual Authorizes holder to catch and sell minnows, fi sh, 
shrimp, or other aquatic products for bait.

47 247 $36 $8,892 19339

Bait dealer’s license, place of 
business10

Authorizes holder to sell, offer for sale, handle, or 
transport minnows, fi sh, shrimp, or other aquatic 
products for bait.

47 1,823 $36 $65,628 19339

Bait-shrimp dealer’s license Authorizes holder to sell, purchase, and handle 
shrimp, minnows, fi sh, and other forms of aquatic 
life for sale or resale for fi sh bait purposes in the 
coastal counties of Texas.  A holder who engages 
in such activities in a county other than a coastal 
county also must have a bait dealer’s license.  The 
holder of a bait-shrimp dealer’s license must have 
a license for each bait stand or place of business 
the holder maintains.  A licensed bait-shrimp 
dealer may not simultaneously hold a wholesale 
fi sh dealer’s license. 

77 212 $204 $43,248 1959
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Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
(FY 07)

Fees
State Revenue 

from Fees
(FY 07)

Year First 
Regulated

Broodfi sh permit Authorizes holder of a valid aquaculture (fi sh 
farming) license or a designated agent to collect 
broodfi sh.11 While collecting broodfi sh, the 
aquaculturist or agent also must hold a valid 
sportfi shing license in all public waters of Texas 
and a saltwater fi shing stamp in public salt water.

31 T.A.C. 
§ 57.392

2 $2512 $50 1996

Commercial plant permit Authorizes holder to take, possess, or transport for 
commercial sale, or sell an endangered, threatened, 
or protected native plant13 from private land, with 
the landowner’s consent, or to hire or pay another 
to perform those activities.14

88 0 $50 0 1985

Controlled exotic snake permit, 
commercial15

Authorizes holder to sell a controlled exotic snake16 
or possess such a snake for commercial purposes.  
A separate permit is required for each permanent 
place of business where controlled exotic snakes 
are sold or held in commercial possession.17

43
31 T.A.C. 
§ 55.652

0 $60 0 2008

Crab fi sherman’s license, 
commercial

Authorizes holder to pursue, take, attempt to take, 
or land crabs in Texas for pay or for the purpose of 
sale, barter, or exchange.  A person may not hold 
or directly or indirectly control more than three 
such licenses and may not fi sh with more than 
200 crab traps at one time.  A license issued to 
a person other than an individual must designate 
an individual in whose name the license will be 
issued. 

78
31 T.A.C. 
§ 58.203

221 (R)
0 (N)

$600 (R)
$2,400 (N)

$132,010 (R)18

0 (N)
1998

Deer breeder’s permit Authorizes holder to engage in the business of 
breeding breeder deer19 in the immediate locality20  
for which the permit was issued and to sell, transfer 
to another person, or hold in captivity live breeder 
deer for the purpose of propagation or sale.

43 1,090 $40021 $436,000 198522
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Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
(FY 07)

Fees
State Revenue 

from Fees
(FY 07)

Year First 
Regulated

Educational display permit Authorizes holder to collect, hold, possess, 
display, or transport protected wildlife for 
educational display purposes.  The holder must 
be an employee, representative, or agent of an 
accredited primary, secondary, or postsecondary 
educational institution; a governmental entity; or 
a nonprofi t educational organization.

43 127 $5023 $2,200 1995

Exotic species permit 12 and 66 $250 or $2524

• Research Authorizes holder to possess, propagate, sell, and 
transport to the holder’s private facilities exotic 
harmful or potentially harmful fi sh, shellfi sh, or 
aquatic plants25 only as authorized in the permit 
provided the species are to be used exclusively 
as experimental organisms in a research program 
approved by the department. 

31 T.A.C.
§ 57.113 

(a)(1)

8 $200 1996

• Standard Authorizes a holder who is a licensed aquaculturist 
to possess, propagate, transport, or sell certain 
exotic harmful or potentially harmful fi sh and 
shellfi sh.25,26  Authorizes a holder who is an 
operator of a wastewater treatment facility to 
possess and transport permitted exotic species 
to the facility only for the purpose of wastewater 
treatment. 

31 T.A.C. 
§ 57.113 

(d)-(f), (k)

80 $3,125 1996

• Water spinach27 Allows holder to grow, possess, or transport water 
spinach28 for a commercial purpose.  

31 T.A.C. 
§ 57.136

0 0 2009

• Zoological Authorizes a holder that is a public aquarium 
to possess, propagate, sell, and transport to the 
permittee’s private facilities exotic harmful or 
potentially harmful exotic fi sh, shellfi sh, and aquatic 
plants for exhibit if the aquarium is approved for 
display of such fi sh, shellfi sh, and plants. 

31 T.A.C.
§ 57.113 

(a)(2)

15 $600 1996

6



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
(FY 07)

Fees
State Revenue 

from Fees
(FY 07)

Year First 
Regulated

Exotic species interstate transport 
permit

Authorizes holder to transport live harmful or 
potentially harmful exotic species25 originating from 
a point of origin outside Texas and being transported 
through Texas to a destination outside the state.

12 and 66
31 T.A.C. 
§ 57.130

5 $100 or $2529 $500 1996

Finfi sh fi sherman’s license, 
commercial

Authorizes holder to catch fi nfi sh30 from the tidal 
waters of Texas for pay or for the purpose of sale, 
barter, exchange, or any other commercial purpose.  
The term “commercial fi nfi sh fi sherman” does 
not include a person who holds an individual bait 
dealer’s license, is in a vessel licensed as a menhaden 
boat and who takes menhaden, or takes minnows 
for bait only.  A person may not hold or directly 
or indirectly control more than three commercial 
fi nfi sh fi sherman’s licenses.  Such a license issued to 
a person other than an individual must designate an 
individual in whose name the license is issued. 

47 329 (R)
0 (N)

$360 (R)
$1,440 (N)

$118,440 (R)
0 (N)

1979

Finfi sh import license Authorizes holder to receive directly from another 
state or foreign country, import, transport, or 
sell bass of the genus Micropterus, blue marlin, 
crappie, fl athead catfi sh, jewfi sh, longbill 
spearfi sh, muskellunge, northern pike, red drum, 
sailfi sh, sauger, snook, spotted sea trout, striped 
bass, tarpon, walleye, white bass, white marlin, 
yellow bass, or a hybrid of any of those fi sh. 

12 and 66 190 $90 $17,100 1991

Fish dealer’s license, retail Authorizes holder to operate a place of business for 
selling or offering for sale to a consumer aquatic 
products, other than aquatic products that are sold by 
restaurants for and ready for immediate consumption 
in individual portion servings and that are subject to 
the limited sales or use tax.  The term “consumer” 
does not include a wholesale fi sh dealer or a hotel, 
restaurant, cafe, or other retail fi sh dealer.

47 2,683 $92.4031 $247,909.20 1933

7



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
(FY 07)

Fees
State Revenue 

from Fees
(FY 07)

Year First 
Regulated

Fish dealer’s license, wholesale Authorizes holder to operate a place of business 
for selling, offering for sale, canning, preserving, 
processing, or handling for shipments or sale 
aquatic products to retail fi sh dealers, hotels, 
restaurants, cafes, consumers, or other wholesale 
fi sh dealers. 

47 567 $825 $467,775 1919

Fisherman’s license, general 
commercial

Authorizes holder, for pay or for the purpose of 
sale, barter, or exchange or any other commercial 
purpose, to catch aquatic products from the water 
of Texas except fi nfi sh from the tidal waters of the 
state, or unload in the state aquatic products that 
were taken from water outside the state and have 
not been previously unloaded in another state or a 
foreign country.

47 599 (R)
17 (N)

$24 (R)
$180 (N)

$14,376 (R)
$3,060 (N)

1895

Fishing guide license 47

• Freshwater Authorizes holder, for compensation, to 
accompany, assist, or transport a person or persons 
engaged in freshwater fi shing in Texas.

31 T.A.C. 
§ 53.13
(a)(10)

679 (R)
110 (N) 

$125 $83,050 (R)6

$13,371.25 (N)6
200332

• Paddle craft all-water33 Authorizes holder, for compensation, to 
accompany, assist, or transport a person or 
persons by means of a non-motorized vessel 
engaged in fi shing in the coastal waters of Texas. 

31 T.A.C. 
§ 65.73 
(c)-(d)

0 $210 (R)
$1,050 (N)

0 2009

• Saltwater34 Authorizes holder, for compensation, to 
accompany, assist, or transport a person engaged 
in saltwater or freshwater fi shing in Texas. 

31 T.A.C. 
§ 65.73(a)

995 (R)
1 (N) 

$200 (R)
$1,000 (N)

$199,000 (R)
$1,000 (N)

200332

Fur-bearing animal propagation 
permit

Authorizes holder to take or possess a living fur-
bearing animal35 and hold it for the purpose of 
propagation or sale. 

71 3 $90 $270 193036

8



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
(FY 07)

Fees
State Revenue 

from Fees
(FY 07)

Year First 
Regulated

Fur dealer’s license, wholesale Authorizes holder to purchase, possess after 
purchase, or transport for commercial purposes a 
pelt or carcass taken in Texas.  The holder must 
purchase the pelt or carcass from a licensed 
trapper, a licensed retail fur buyer, a fur-bearing 
animal propagator, or another licensed wholesale 
fur dealer.

71 12 (R)
4 (N)

$180 (R)
$600 (N)

$2,160 (R)
$2,100 (N)7

1929

Game animal breeder’s license37 Authorizes holder to engage in the business 
of breeding a game animal38 in the immediate 
locality for which the license was issued, or sell or 
hold a game animal in captivity for the purpose of 
propagation or sale.

44 2 $75 $150 1933

Game bird breeder’s license, 
commercial

Authorizes holder to possess game birds in captivity 
for the purpose of propagation or sale or to sell game 
bird eggs in Texas, regardless of the number of eggs 
sold.

45 195739

• Class 1 license: Entitles holder to possess in 
captivity more than 1,000 game birds.

• Class 2 license: Entitles holder to possess in 
captivity not more than 1,000 game birds during 
any calendar year.

86

392

$180

$25

$15,480

$9,800

Hunting lease license Authorizes the owner of a hunting lease40 or the 
landowner’s agent to receive as a guest for pay 
or other consideration another person engaged in 
hunting.

43 192541

• If lease area is less than 500 acres
• If lease area is 500 acres or more but less than 

1,000 acres
• If lease area is 1,000 acres or more

4,678
1,481

2,553

$75
$140

$240

$336,698.256

$198,263.806

$585,417.606

9



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
(FY 07)

Fees
State Revenue 

from Fees
(FY 07)

Year First 
Regulated

Marine dealer’s, distributor’s, or 
manufacturer’s license

Authorizes holder to sell, sell on consignment, 
display for sale, purchase, trade, or transfer a 
vessel, motorboat, or outboard motor in exchange 
for a fee, commission, or other consideration.  
Licensing requirement applies also to a person or 
entity purporting to be a broker or brokerage house 
who acts as an intermediary or assists in such an 
activity.  A dealer must have a license for each place 
of business owned and operated by the person.

31 861 $50042 $430,500 2003

Menhaden fi sh plant license Authorizes holder to operate a fi xed installation 
on land designed, equipped, and used to process 
fi sh and the by-products of fi sh by the application 
of pressure, heat, or chemicals or a combination 
of pressure, heat, and chemicals to raw fi sh to 
convert the raw fi sh into fi sh oil, fi sh solubles, fi sh 
scraps, or other products.

47 0 $180 0 1951

Mussel and clam fi sherman’s 
license, commercial

Authorizes holder to take mussels, clams, or 
their shells from the public water of Texas for 
commercial purposes.

78 20 (R)
1 (N)

$36 (R)
$960 (N)

$720 (R)
$960 (N)

1919

Nongame permit Authorizes holder to collect certain nongame 
wildlife43 from the wild and purchase or acquire 
nongame wildlife from the holder of a valid 
nongame dealer permit or lawful out-of-state 
source, but the holder may sell only to the holder 
of a valid nongame dealer permit.

67
31 T.A.C.
§ 65.327 

(b)(2)

478 (R)
30 (N)

$18 (R)
$60 (N)

$8,326.98 (R)6

$1,854 (N)6,8
1998

Nongame dealer permit Authorizes holder to collect certain nongame 
wildlife43 from the wild; sell lawfully obtained 
nongame wildlife to anyone; acquire nongame 
wildlife by or for a commercial activity only from 
a person permitted under these provisions or a 
lawful out-of-state source; and import nongame

67
31 T.A.C.
§ 65.327 

(b)(1)

288 (R)
0 (N)

$60 (R)
$240 (N)

$17,280 (R)
0 (N)

1998

10



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
(FY 07)

Fees
State Revenue 

from Fees
(FY 07)

Year First 
Regulated

Nongame dealer permit
(continued)

wildlife into Texas for any purpose, including 
sale or resale, or for purposes of export, provided 
the person does not release the nongame wildlife 
in Texas or allow the nongame wildlife to 
commingle with native nongame wildlife in Texas 
and meets certain notifi cation and recordkeeping 
requirements.  The holder also is authorized to 
export lawfully obtained nongame wildlife from 
Texas for any reason, including sale or resale, 
provided the person meets certain notifi cation 
and recordkeeping requirements, and to engage 
in captive breeding of all species of nongame 
wildlife.

Nongame fi sh, permit to sell Authorizes holder to catch for sale, sell, or offer 
for sale nongame fi sh44 taken from public fresh 
waters of Texas. 

67
31 T.A.C. 
§ 57.379

85 $60 $5,100 1993

Offshore aquaculture permit45 Authorizes holder to operate an aquaculture (fi sh 
farming) facility in a designated offshore aquaculture 
zone, which includes all waters of the Gulf of Mexico 
seaward from the shoreline for a distance of three 
marine leagues but does not include bays, passes, 
rivers, or other bodies of water.  Holder may cultivate 
only native species.46

12 and 66
31 T.A.C. 
§ 57.252

0 $1,50047 0 2007

Oyster boat captain’s license, 
commercial

Authorizes holder to operate a commercial oyster 
boat while taking or attempting to take oysters 
from the public water of Texas.

76 685 (R)
38 (N)

$30 (R)
$120 (N)

$20,117.10 (R)6

$4,393.20 (N)6
1919

Oyster fi sherman’s license, 
commercial

Authorizes holder to take or attempt to take 
oysters from the public water of Texas for pay or 
for the purpose of sale, barter, or exchange or any 
other commercial purpose.

76 1 (R)
0 (N)

$120 (R)
$300 (N)

$120 (R)
0 (N)

1895

11



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
(FY 07)

Fees
State Revenue 

from Fees
(FY 07)

Year First 
Regulated

Party boat operator license48 Authorizes the owner of a vessel that is rented or 
leased by the owner for a group recreational event 
for more than six passengers to operate the vessel 
on the inland waters of Texas.  The vessel must 
be at least 30 feet long and excludes a sailboat, 
livery vessel, or any vessel used for training or 
instructional purposes while it is not being used 
as a party boat.  The license also authorizes an 
employee of the owner to operate the vessel in 
inland waters.49

31
31 T.A.C. 
§ 55.403

0 $12550,51 0 2007

Private bird hunting area license Authorizes holder to release banded pen-reared 

birds52 from a private bird hunting area, which 
must consist of contiguous acreage owned by an 
individual, partnership, fi rm, or corporation and 
be distinguished from any other club, hunting 
lease, or other leased premises for hunting 
purposes by clearly marking its boundaries with 
certain signs as prescribed by law, which must be 
placed at each entrance.  Holder or a guest may 
take banded pen-reared birds on the licensed 
area during the private bird hunting area season, 
which begins each September 1 and extends 
through the following August 31.  Holder may 
hold pen-reared birds in captivity on the private 
bird hunting area only for release to provide 
hunting. 

43 353 $80 $28,240 1973

Protected nongame sales permit Authorizes holder to possess a coatimundi and 
distribute, sell, or offer for sale such coatimundi. 

67
31 T.A.C. 
§ 69.403

2 $20053 $400 1997

12



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
(FY 07)

Fees
State Revenue 

from Fees
(FY 07)

Year First 
Regulated

Raptor propagator’s permit Authorizes holder to take, capture, or possess, or 
attempt to take or capture, any native raptors.54  

Holder is prohibited from possessing or 
breeding species of raptors listed as endangered 
unless the propagator can document proof of 
seven years’ experience caring for and handling 
raptors.

49
31 T.A.C.
§ 65.265 

(4)

3 $60 $180 197555

Scientifi c research permit Authorizes holder to collect, hold, possess, 
display, transport, release, or propagate protected 
wildlife for scientifi c research.

43 446 $5023,56 $6,950 192557

Shell buyer’s license Authorizes holder to purchase for commercial use 
mussel or clam shells that have been taken from 
the public water of Texas.

78 1 (R)
0 (N)

$120 (R)
$1,800 (N)

$120 (R)
0 (N)

1993

Shrimp boat captain’s license, 
commercial

Authorizes the captain of a licensed commercial 
shrimp boat to operate the boat while catching or 
attempting to catch shrimp from the public water 
of Texas or unloading or attempting to unload in 
Texas shrimp and other aquatic products taken 
from saltwater outside the state for pay or for 
purposes of sale.

77 1,664 (R)
126 (N)

$30 (R)
$120 (N)

$49,323.30 (R)6

$15,066 (N)6
1919

Trapper’s license Authorizes holder to take a fur-bearing animal or 
the pelt of a fur-bearing animal in Texas.

71 2,749 (R)
68 (N)

$18 (R)
$300 (N)

$48,294 (R)6

$21,279 (N)6,7
1925

Triploid grass carp permit Authorizes holder to possess triploid grass carp.  
Holder may purchase triploid grass carp only 
from a Texas aquaculturist in possession of a 
valid exotic species permit authorizing possession 
of triploid grass carp, and only in an amount 
less than or equal to that number specifi ed in the 
triploid grass carp permit.58

12 and 66
31 T.A.C.
§ 57.124 

(b)

NA59 $15, plus an 
additional 
$2 fee per 
triploid 
grass carp 
requested

$108,248.50 1992

13



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
(FY 07)

Fees
State Revenue 

from Fees
(FY 07)

Year First 
Regulated

Wildlife management association 
area hunting lease license

Authorizes the owner of a tract of land included in 
a wildlife management association area to release 
banded pen-reared birds52 from that tract of land. 

43 1993

• If lease area is less than 10,000 acres
• If lease area is between 10,000 and 50,000 acres
• If lease area is more than 50,000 acres

24
20
9

$36+60

$72+60

$144+60

$864
$1,440
$1,296

Zoological collection permit Authorizes holder to collect, hold, possess, 
display, transport, release, or propagate protected 
wildlife for zoological collection.61  Holder must 
be an agent of an entity that is either accredited by 
the American Zoo and Aquarium Association or 
meets certain facility and other requirements. 

43 30 $15023 $4,500 1925

14



Notes

 1 This permit may be renewed if the permittee fi les the prescribed application form, together with the required fee, at least 10 days before the current permit expires. 
 2 Senate Bill 44 (Chapter 147, Acts of the 63rd Legislature, Regular Session, 1973) authorized the department to issue permits for the control of predator animals (defi ned as coyotes, 

bobcats, red foxes, and cross-breeds between coyotes and dogs, and excluding birds and fowl) by the use of aircraft in specifi ed counties.  In 1989, passage of House Bill 3080 
(Chapter 545, Acts of the 71st Legislature, Regular Session, 1989), which applied that authorization to all counties of the state, amended the types of depredating animals that 
could be controlled, and included the management of wildlife as an authorized activity, with management defi ned as counting, photographing, relocating, or capturing wildlife.  
Passage of Senate Bill 329 in 1995 (Chapter 969, Acts of the 74th Legislature, Regular Session, 1995) added the management of exotic animals to authorized activities and added 
hunting to the defi nition of “management.” 

 3 According to 31 T.A.C. § 65.357(5), an alligator retail dealer’s permit is not required of a person selling processed products if alligator hide is the only alligator part used (e.g., 
for footwear, belts, wallets, or luggage); or a person selling alligator ready for immediate consumption in individual portion servings; or a person selling alligator meat processed 
and packaged in accordance with applicable local, state, and federal laws governing the processing of food for sale to the public.

 4 Senate Bill 418 (Chapter 184, Acts of the 67th Legislature, Regular Session, 1981) prohibited the taking, selling, purchase, or possession of an alligator, an alligator egg, or any 
part of an alligator in Texas except as permitted by the regulations of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission.  The measure also created an alligator hunter’s license, which 
authorized the holder to take, attempt to take, possess, or accompany another person who is attempting to take an alligator in Texas during the open season established by the 
commission for taking alligators, and an alligator buyer’s license, which authorized the holder to purchase or possess after purchase from an alligator hunter an alligator, alligator 
hide, or any part of an alligator taken in the state.  In 1997, the alligator buyer’s license was replaced by the alligator retail dealer’s permit and the  alligator wholesale dealer’s 
permit  (22 Tex. Reg. 7898, August 15, 1997).  The alligator import permit was created at that time, and the alligator export fee was adopted by rule in 2003 (28 Tex. Reg. 9081, 
October 17, 2003).

 5 The alligator export fee applies to the export of a live alligator.  A person wishing to export a dead alligator, an alligator hide, or an alligator part must obtain an alligator hide tag, 
the fees for which are set out in 31 T.A.C. § 53.8(h), (i), and (j).

 6 This type of license may be sold by a retailer, and the revenue reported by the department refl ects commissions retained by the retailer before forwarding the revenue to the 
department.

 7 Revenue includes license fees for licenses that were voided but for which the license fee was not refunded: e.g., the retailer mistakenly sold an individual an incorrect license at 
the same fee as the correct license then voided the incorrect license and issued the correct one, resulting in no refund but a miscalculation in the number of licenses sold in each 
category because the department’s accounting procedures do not include a change of item code for such voided licenses.

 8 Revenue includes a non-returned document charge (the amount of the license minus the commission), which is assessed if a retailer sells a license then voids the transaction but 
fails to return the license to the department.

 9 House Bill 81 (Chapter 29, Acts of the 43rd Legislature, 1st Called Session, 1933), which created a bait dealer license (effective in 1934, 90 days after adjournment on October 16, 
1933), defi ned “bait dealer” as any person engaged in the business of selling either minnows, fi sh, shrimp, or other aquatic products for fi sh bait; the bill did not create a separate 
license for an individual and a place of business.  That distinction was made in 1997 with the passage of House Bill 2542 (Chapter 1256, Acts of the 75th Legislature, Regular 
Session, 1997), which included the current defi nition for “bait dealer” (Section 47.001(5), Parks and Wildlife Code).

 10 Section 47.001(9), Parks and Wildlife Code, defi nes “place of business” as a permanent structure on land or a motor vehicle required to be registered under Section 502.002, 
Transportation Code, where aquatic products or orders for aquatic products are received or where aquatic products are sold or purchased but does not include a boat or any type 
of fl oating device, a public cold storage vault, the portion of a structure that is used as a residence, or a vehicle from which no orders are taken or no shipments or deliveries are 
made other than to the place of business of a licensee in Texas.

 11 31 T.A.C. § 57.391(4) defi nes “broodfi sh” as a fi sh taken from the public waters of Texas for the purpose of aquaculture (fi sh farming, or the business of producing and selling 
cultured aquatic species raised in private facilities).

 12 This permit expires 60 days from the date of issuance.
 13 Section 88.002, Parks and Wildlife Code, provides that species of native plants are endangered, threatened, or protected if listed as such on the United States List of Endangered 

Plant Species or on the list of endangered, threatened, or protected native plants as fi led by the director of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department.  31 T.A.C. § 69.8 provides 
lists of the endangered and threatened plants that are covered by this permit.
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 14 Section 88.009, Parks and Wildlife Code, exempts from the provisions relating to this permit the taking, possession, or sale of endangered, threatened, or protected plants if such 
activity is incidental to the possession or sale of the real property on which the plant is growing; the possession or acquisition of easements or leases on which the plant is growing; 
and the harvest or sale of an agricultural crop if the endangered, threatened, or protected plant grows among that crop.  Also exempt is the possession, transportation, or sale of 
an endangered, threatened, or protected plant if the plant originates in another state and the person possessing, transporting, or selling the plant complies with the terms of any 
required federal permit or with the terms of a state permit required by the laws of the originating state.

 15 This category was created by rule in 2008 (33 Tex. Reg. 2543); therefore, the license fee is the current fee, and there are no active licenses or fee revenue for FY 07.
 16 31 T.A.C. § 55.651(2) defi nes “controlled exotic snake” as any live snake that is a venomous snake not indigenous to Texas; African rock python (Python sebae), Asiatic rock 

python (Python molurus), green anaconda (Eunectes murinus), reticulated python (Python reticulatus), or southern African python (Python natalensis); or  a hybrid of any of the 
species listed in this subdivision. 

 17 Section 43.851(c), Parks and Wildlife Code, exempts from requirements for this permit a state or county offi cial performing an offi cial duty; a licensed zoo that possesses or 
transports a snake for exhibition or scientifi c purposes; a research facility, including a university, licensed under the Animal Welfare Act (7 U.S.C. Section 2131 et seq.) that 
possesses or transports a snake for scientifi c purposes; and a person who assists a department employee in the handling or transport of a snake under the permit requirements. 

 18 The difference of $590 in revenue is due to one crab fi sherman’s license being issued to an heir on the death of the license holder for a $10 fee paid by the heir, in accordance with 
Section 78.109, Parks and Wildlife Code, and 31 T.A.C. § 53.12(d)(2)(B).

 19 Section 43.351(1), Parks and Wildlife Code, defi nes “breeder deer” as a white-tailed deer or mule deer legally held under a deer breeder’s permit authorized by the Parks and 
Wildlife Code. 

 20 Section 43.351(6), Parks and Wildlife Code, defi nes “immediate locality” as land that is contiguous and that is owned by the same person; land divided or separated only by a 
public road or a public waterway is contiguous for such purposes.

 21 This permit is valid from the date of issuance until the immediately following July 1 and may be renewed annually if the permittee meets the requirements in 31 T.A.C. § 65.603(d).
 22 As created by Senate Bill 464 (Chapter 267, Acts of the 69th Legislature, Regular Session, 1985), this permit was called a scientifi c breeder’s permit and authorized a qualifi ed 

person to possess a white-tailed deer for propagation, management, and scientifi c purposes.  House Bill 1771 (Chapter 704, Acts of the 72nd Legislature, Regular Session, 1991) 
expanded the permit’s authority to include mule deer, and House Bill 1308 (Chapter 79, Acts of the 80th Legislature, Regular Session, 2007) renamed the permit a deer breeder’s 
permit and added other requirements relating to deer breeding operations.

 23 31 T.A.C. § 69.310(b) provides that no fee is required for a permit application on behalf of a primary or secondary educational institution, or on behalf of a governmental entity 
required by law to conduct activities governed by provisions relating to educational permits.  Section 43.022(h), Parks and Wildlife Code,  authorizes the commission by rule to 
exempt certain categories of activities from the permitting and fee requirements if those activities are determined to provide a public benefi t and do not adversely affect a protected 
wildlife resource.

 24 These permits are issued for one calendar year, expiring on December 31 of the year issued, and may be renewed.  The fee for a new permit application, or a renewal or amended 
application that requires a facility inspection, is $250; if no inspection is required, the fee for a renewal or amended application is $25, unless the renewal application is received 
more than one year after the renewal date, in which case the renewal fee is $250.

 25 31 T.A.C. § 57.111 defi nes “exotic species” as a nonindigenous plant or wildlife resource not normally found in public water of Texas and lists the exotic fi sh, shellfi sh, and plant 
species considered harmful or potentially harmful.

 26 31 T.A.C. § 57.113(d), (e), and (k) specify the species covered by an exotic species permit held by an aquaculturist.  
 27 This category was created by rule in 2009 (34 Tex. Reg. 9460); therefore, the license fees are the current fees, and there are no active licenses or fee revenue for FY 07.
 28 According to 31 T.A.C. § 57.111(18)(K), the family referred to as water spinach (Convolvulaceae--Ipomoea aquatica) also is called ong choy, rau mong, and kangkong.
 29 The fee is $100 for an annual permit and $25 for an individual permit.  An annual permit is issued for one calendar year, expiring on December 31 of the year issued; an individual 

permit is issued for the duration of the transporting activity.
 30 “Finfi sh” is defi ned in Section 47.001(14), Parks and Wildlife Code, as those living natural resources having either cartilaginous or bony skeletons (Chondrichthyes and 

Osteichthyes). 
 31 The license fee is assessed for each place of business. 
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 32 House Bill 81 (Chapter 29, Acts of the 43rd Legislature, 1st Called Session, 1933) created a “fi sh guide” license, renamed a “fi shing guide” license in 1993 (Chapter 365 [House 
Bill 1659], Acts of the 73rd Legislature, Regular Session, 1993), which authorized its holder to operate a boat for pay or any thing of value, in accompanying or transporting 
any person engaged in fi shing in the waters of Texas.  In 2003, the legislature passed Senate Bill 608 (Chapter 859, Acts of the 78th Legislature, Regular Session, 2003), which 
authorized the commission to adopt rules creating separate fi shing guide licenses for use in saltwater and freshwater; the commission adopted such rules later that year (28 Tex. 
Reg. 5205).  The holder of a saltwater fi shing guide license, renamed the all-water fi shing guide license in 2007 (32 Tex. Reg. 2659), is authorized to fi sh in either freshwater or 
saltwater.

 33 This category was created by rule in 2009 (34 Tex. Reg. 5701); therefore, the license fees are the current fees, and there are no active licenses or fee revenue for FY 07.
 34 In 2007, the commission renamed this  license the all-water fi shing guide license (32 Tex. Reg. 2659).
 35 Section 71.001(1), Parks and Wildlife Code, defi nes “fur-bearing animal” as a wild beaver, otter, mink, ring-tailed cat, badger, skunk, raccoon, muskrat, opossum, fox, or nutria. 
 36 Senate Bill 3 (Chapter 172, Acts of the 39th Legislature, Regular Session, 1925) authorized the capture of wild animals or wild quadrupeds for propagation purposes if permission 

was secured by application to the game, fi sh, and oyster commissioner and authorized the commissioner to prescribe rules and regulations governing the propagation of game birds 
and animals.  In 1930, a propagation permit authorizing a person to take a live fur-bearing animal for the purpose of sale was created with the passage of House Bill 86 (Chapter 
45, Acts of the 41st Legislature, 5th Called Session, 1930).

 37 Originally called a game breeder’s license; the name was changed by rule in 2003 (28 Tex. Reg. 5202) to differentiate the license from the game bird breeder’s license.  Chapter 
44, Parks and Wildlife Code, has not yet been amended to refl ect the change.

 38 Section 44.001(3), Parks and Wildlife Code, defi nes “game animal” as a pronghorn antelope, a collared peccary or javelina, or a red or gray squirrel.
 39 The statutory provision creating the Class 1 and Class 2 license categories was added in 1973 with the passage of House Bill 618 (Chapter 430, Acts of the 63rd Legislature, 

Regular Session, 1973).
 40 Section 43.041(2), Parks and Wildlife Code,  defi nes “hunting lease” to mean the aggregate amount of land owned by one individual, partnership, fi rm, or corporation or the 

aggregate amount of land in a hunting cooperative in a county and leased for hunting purposes.  The statute specifi es the circumstances under which a landowner may be required 
to obtain more than one hunting lease license.

 41 The provision establishing a graduated license fee based on the number of acres was added in 1975 with the passage of Senate Bill 169 (Chapter 176, Acts of the 64th Legislature, 
Regular Session, 1975).

 42 This license is issued for a two-year period.
 43 31 T.A.C. § 65.331(d) lists the species of frogs and toads, salamanders, lizards, snakes, and mammals covered by this permit. 
 44 31 T.A.C. § 57.377(3) and 31 T.A.C. § 65.3(23)(B) defi ne “nongame fi sh” as all species not listed as game fi sh, except endangered and threatened fi sh, which are defi ned and 

regulated by separate proclamations. 
 45 This category was created by rule in 2007 (32 Tex. Reg. 2012); therefore, there are no active licenses or fee revenue for FY 07.
 46 31 T.A.C. § 57.251(6) defi nes “native species” as all fi sh, shellfi sh, or aquatic plants documented by the department to live, spawn, or reproduce in Texas offshore waters and whose 

fi rst documented occurrence in Texas offshore waters was not the result of intentional or unintentional importation by man.
 47 31 T.A.C. § 57.255 authorizes the department to renew an unexpired offshore aquaculture permit if the applicant meets certain requirements and the aquaculture facility is in 

compliance with all operational and facility standards as refl ected in the current permit, including any permit amendments. 
 48 This category was created by rule in 2007, as required by law (32 Tex. Reg. 10011), and became effective January 1, 2008; therefore, there are no active licenses or fee revenue 

for FY 07.
 49 31 T.A.C. § 55.402(c) exempts from the requirements for this license a person who has a valid and current federal pilot’s or captain’s license issued by the U.S. Coast Guard or 

other federal agency, or a valid license, issued by a state that shares a body of water with Texas, that is substantively similar in effect and scope to the party boat operator license 
required by Texas law if the issuing state allows Texas vessels to operate in the shared waters under the same conditions and the party boat is operated only in those shared waters.

 50 The license holder also must pay an annual water safety inspection fee ($125 in FY 07, increased to $132 in 2009); if the inspection is performed by a department-approved 
entity, $60 may be retained by the inspecting entity.  The inspection fee is not required for a vessel that is carrying passengers for hire and carries a valid and current certifi cate of 
inspection issued under federal law. 

 51 This license is valid for two years from the date of issuance and may be renewed by submitting a renewal application to the department within 60 days of the expiration date of 
the license, accompanied by a renewal fee of $50 (increased to $53 in 2009).
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 52 In 2007, Section 43.071(5), Parks and Wildlife Code, defi ned “pen-reared birds” as bobwhite quail, pheasant, partridge, and mallard ducks propagated or acquired in accordance 
with provisions relating to a game bird breeder’s license (Chapter 45, Parks and Wildlife Code); in 2009, the defi nition was amended to include pigeons (Chapter 952 [House Bill 
3391], Acts of the 81st Legislature, Regular Session, 2009). 

 53 This permit may be renewed for one year by submitting a completed renewal form to the department, accompanied by a permit renewal fee of $200. 
 54 31 T.A.C. § 65.262(8) defi nes “raptor” as a live migratory bird of the Order Falconiformes or the Order Strigiformes.
 55 Senate Bill 3 (Chapter 172, Acts of the 39th Legislature, Regular Session, 1925) provided for the capture of wild birds and their nests and eggs for propagation purposes only after 

securing permission from the game, fi sh, and oyster commissioner by application in the form of an affi davit stating what animals, nests, or eggs the person wished to take and the 
purposes for that taking; however, it was not until 1975 that a permit was created specifi cally authorizing the propagation of raptors (Chapter 545 [House Bill 1186], Acts of the 
64th Legislature, Regular Session, 1975), although collection and holding of raptors for propagation purposes was not prohibited under certain predecessor permits.

 56 This permit is valid for three years. 
 57 This permit, originally called a scientifi c collecting permit, authorized the holder to take, possess, and transport, in any manner and at any time, birds and their nests and eggs, 

for scientifi c purposes, with the requirement that the holder obtain a federal scientifi c collecting permit issued by the Bureau of Biological Survey of the U.S. Department of 
Agriculture before taking migratory birds or their nests or eggs (Chapter 172 [Senate Bill 3], Acts of the 39th Legislature, Regular Session, 1925).  The provision creating this 
permit also authorized the capture of wild animals or wild quadrupeds if permission was secured by application to the game, fi sh, and oyster commissioner in the form of an 
affi davit stating what animals, nests, or eggs the person wished to take and the purposes for that taking. 

 58 The number of triploid grass carp that may be purchased under this permit is determined by the size of the applicant’s pond and the amount of vegetation in the pond.  The 
department’s fi sheries biologists recommend 10 fi sh per acre for a pond with 50 percent or more coverage of vegetation and 5 fi sh per acre for a pond with less than 50 percent 
coverage of vegetation.

 59 The department cannot determine how many permits were valid in 2007 because this permit has no expiration date; it is valid until the permittee has purchased all the fi sh 
authorized in the permit.  The fi sh may be purchased at one time or over an unspecifi ed period of time. 

 60 The license holder also must pay $5 per participating landowner (increased to $6 in 2009).  This charge is not refl ected in the state revenue from the license fees.
 61 Section 43.021, Parks and Wildlife Code, defi nes “protected wildlife” as all indigenous mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fi sh, and other indigenous aquatic life the taking, 

collecting, holding, possession, propagation, release, display, or transport of which is governed by state law or  commission rule, and includes endangered species.
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Table 2.  Statutory Penalties1 for Violations Relating to Occupational Licenses

Type of License Penalty Description2 and Statutory Authority

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
Aerial management permit (a) Except as otherwise provided by this section, a person who violates any provision of this subchapter [Subchapter G. 

Permits to Manage Wildlife and Exotic Animals from Aircraft] or a proclamation or regulation adopted under this subchapter 
commits an offense that is a Class A Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(b) A person who violates Section 43.107 [Reports Required] commits an offense that is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code 
misdemeanor.
(c) If it is shown at the trial of the defendant for a violation of this subchapter or a proclamation or regulation adopted under 
this subchapter that the defendant has been convicted of a Class A Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor violation of this 
subchapter within 10 years preceding the trial date, on conviction the defendant shall be punished for a Parks and Wildlife 
Code felony.  This subsection does not apply if the previous conviction was for a violation of Section 43.107.
[Statutory Authority: Section 43.111, Parks and Wildlife Code]

Alligator permits and alligator export 
fee

(a) A person commits an offense if the person violates this chapter or a regulation of the commission issued under this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(c) If it is shown at the trial of the defendant that he has been once before convicted of a violation of this chapter, the offense 
is a Class B Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(d) If it is shown at the trial of the defendant that he has been convicted of a violation of this chapter two or more previous 
times, the offense is a Class A Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 65.008, Parks and Wildlife Code]

Bait dealer’s licenses, fi sherman’s 
licenses, fi sh dealer’s licenses, fi shing 
guide licenses, and menhaden fi sh plant 
license

Except as provided by Section 47.052, Parks and Wildlife Code [see below], a person who violates a provision of this chapter 
commits an offense that is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 47.051, Parks and Wildlife Code]

If it is shown at the trial of the defendant for a violation of Section . . . 47.016 [Menhaden Fish Plant License] . . . of this code 
that he has been convicted within fi ve years before the trial date of a violation of the section for which he is being prosecuted, 
on conviction he shall be punished for a Class B Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 47.052(d), Parks and Wildlife Code]

Bait-shrimp dealer’s license; and 
shrimp boat captain’s license, 
commercial

(a) A person who violates a provision of this chapter except Section 77.024 [Operation Without License] or 77.061(a)(1) 
[establishing the dates for the general closed season for shrimping] or who violates a regulation adopted under this chapter 
commits an offense that is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(b) If it is shown at the trial of the defendant that the person has been convicted once within fi ve years before the trial date of 
a violation of a provision of this chapter except Section 77.024 or 77.061(a)(1), or of a regulation adopted under this chapter, 
the person is guilty of a Class B Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
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Table 2.  Statutory Penalties1 for Violations Relating to Occupational Licenses

Type of License Penalty Description2 and Statutory Authority

Bait-shrimp dealer’s license; and 
shrimp boat captain’s license, 
commercial (continued)

(c) If it is shown at the trial of the defendant that the person has been convicted two or more times within fi ve years before the 
trial date of a violation of a provision of this chapter except Section 77.024 or 77.061(a)(1), or of a regulation adopted under 
this chapter, the person is guilty of a Class A Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(d) Section 12.109 [Confi scation and Disposition of Aquatic Products] and Subchapter D, Chapter 12 [Recovery by the State 
for Value of Fish, Shellfi sh, Reptile, Amphibian, Bird, or Animal], do not apply to a violation of a rule adopted under this 
chapter related to the display of a commercial shrimp boat license or a commercial shrimp boat’s documentation or registration 
number if another violation of this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter does not exist at the time of the violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 77.020, Parks and Wildlife Code]

Each day on which a violation occurs constitutes a separate offense. 
[Statutory Authority: Section 77.021, Parks and Wildlife Code]

(a) When a vessel is involved in a violation of this chapter, the captain of the vessel shall be considered primarily responsible 
for the violation.  A member of the crew of a vessel shall not be guilty of a violation unless it also be charged that the member 
of the crew acted in violation of the orders of the captain of the vessel.
(b) The owner of a vessel involved in a violation of this chapter may not be found guilty of the violation unless it is charged 
and proved that the owner knowingly directed, authorized, permitted, agreed to, aided, or acquiesced in the violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 77.022, Parks and Wildlife Code]

Commercial plant permit (a) Except as otherwise provided by this section, a person who violates any provision of this chapter commits an offense that 
is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(b) If it is shown at the trial of the defendant that he has been convicted within the preceding 36 months of a violation of this 
chapter, on conviction he shall be punished for a Class B Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(c) If it is shown at the trial of the defendant that he has been convicted two or more times within the preceding 60 months of 
a violation of this chapter, on conviction he shall be punished for a Class A Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(d) A person who hires or pays another person to take, possess, or transport for commercial sale or sell an endangered, 
threatened, or protected plant in violation of Subsection (d) of Section 88.008 [Prohibited Acts] of this code commits an 
offense.  An offense under this section is a Class B Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(e) Each endangered, threatened, or protected plant taken, possessed, transported, or sold in violation of this chapter constitutes 
a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 88.011, Parks and Wildlife Code]

Controlled exotic snake permit, 
commercial

(a) Except as provided by Subsection (c), a person who violates this subchapter [Subchapter V. Nonindigenous Snake Permit] 
or a rule adopted under this subchapter commits an offense that is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(b) A person who violates Section 43.853 [Release From Captivity] or a rule adopted to implement Section 43.853 commits 
an offense that is a Class A Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 43.856, Parks and Wildlife Code]
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Table 2.  Statutory Penalties1 for Violations Relating to Occupational Licenses

Type of License Penalty Description2 and Statutory Authority

Crab fi sherman’s license, commercial; 
mussel and clam fi sherman’s license, 
commercial; and shell buyer’s license

A person who violates the provisions of this chapter commits a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 78.007, Parks and Wildlife Code]

Deer breeder’s permit (a) Except as provided by Subsection (b), a person who violates a provision of this subchapter [Subchapter L. Deer 
Breeder’s Permit] or a regulation of the commission issued under this subchapter or who fails to fi le a full and complete 
report as required by Section 43.359 [Records and Reports] commits an offense that is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code 
misdemeanor.
(b) A person who violates Section 43.365(a)(1) [making it an offense for a deer breeder or another person to allow the 
hunting or killing of a breeder deer or any other deer held in captivity in a facility permitted under this subchapter, unless 
otherwise provided by this subchapter or by commission rule] commits an offense that is a Class A Parks and Wildlife 
Code misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 43.367, Parks and Wildlife Code]

Educational display, scientifi c research, 
and zoological collection permits

A person who violates Section 43.022 [Permit Requirement], a commission rule, or the conditions of a permit issued under this 
subchapter [Subchapter C. Permits for Scientifi c Research, Zoological Collection, Rehabilitation, and Educational Display] 
commits an offense that is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 43.030, Parks and Wildlife Code]

Exotic species permit, exotic species 
interstate transport permit, fi nfi sh 
import license, offshore aquaculture 
permit, and triploid grass carp permit

(a) Except as otherwise provided by this section, a person who violates a provision of this subchapter [Subchapter A.  Provisions 
Applicable to Freshwater and Saltwater Fishing] or a rule adopted by the commission under this subchapter commits an 
offense that is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(b) A person who violates Section . . . 66.007 [Exotic Harmful or Potentially Harmful Fish, Shellfi sh, and Aquatic Plants] . . . [or] 
66.015 [Introduction of Fish, Shellfi sh, and Aquatic Plants] of this code commits an offense that is a Class B Parks and 
Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(c) If it is shown at the trial of the defendant for a violation of Section . . . 66.007 or 66.015 of this code that the defendant has 
been convicted once before the trial date of a violation of the same section, on conviction the defendant shall be punished for 
a Class A Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(d) If it is shown at the trial of the defendant for a violation of Section . . . 66.007 or 66.015 of this code that the defendant has 
been convicted two or more times before the trial date of a violation of the same section, on conviction the defendant shall be 
punished for a Parks and Wildlife Code felony.
[Statutory Authority: Section 66.012, Parks and Wildlife Code]

(b) A person who violates Section . . . 134.020 [Exotic Species] commits an offense that is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 134.023(b), Agriculture Code]
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Table 2.  Statutory Penalties1 for Violations Relating to Occupational Licenses

Type of License Penalty Description2 and Statutory Authority

Fur-bearing animal propagation permit; 
fur dealer’s license, wholesale; and 
trapper’s license

(a) Except as provided in another subsection of this section, a person who violates any provision of this chapter or proclamation 
under this chapter commits an offense that is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(b) If it is shown at the trial of the defendant that he has been convicted once within the preceding 36 months of a violation of this 
chapter or a proclamation under this chapter, on conviction he shall be punished for a Class B Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(c) If it is shown at the trial of the defendant that he has been convicted two or more times within the preceding 60 months of 
a violation of this chapter or a proclamation under this chapter, on conviction he shall be punished for a Class A Parks and 
Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 71.015, Parks and Wildlife Code]

Game animal breeder’s license A person who violates a provision of this chapter commits an offense that is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 44.016, Parks and Wildlife Code]

Game bird breeder’s license, 
commercial

A person who violates a provision of this chapter commits an offense that is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 45.012, Parks and Wildlife Code]

Hunting lease license and wildlife 
management association area hunting 
lease license

A person who violates any provision of this subchapter [Subchapter D. Hunting Lease Licenses] or who fails to comply with 
any provision of this subchapter commits an offense that is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 43.055, Parks and Wildlife Code]

Marine dealer’s, distributor’s, or 
manufacturer’s license

(a) A person who violates or fails to comply with any provision of this chapter, or who violates or fails to comply with a 
proclamation of the commission entered under this chapter or a city ordinance or order of a commissioners court or a political 
subdivision of the state made or entered under this chapter, commits an offense that is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(b) A person who violates Section 31.043(c) [prohibiting a person from intentionally or knowingly tampering with the 
manufacturer’s identifi cation number on a vessel’s hull, an outboard motor serial number, or a hull identifi cation number or 
serial number issued by the department or from possessing a vessel with such an altered number] . . . of this code commits an 
offense that is a Class B Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 31.127, Parks and Wildlife Code]

Nongame permit; nongame dealer 
permit; nongame fi sh, permit to sell; 
and protected nongame sales permit

(a) A person who violates a regulation of the commission issued under this chapter commits an offense that is a Class C Parks 
and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(b) A person who violates a regulation of the commission issued under this chapter and who has been convicted on one 
previous occasion of a violation of a commission regulation under this chapter commits an offense that is a Class B Parks 
and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(c) A person who violates a regulation of the commission issued under this chapter and who has been convicted on two or more 
previous occasions of a violation of commission regulations under this chapter commits an offense that is a Class A Parks 
and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 67.005, Parks and Wildlife Code]
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Oyster boat captain’s license, 
commercial; and oyster fi sherman’s 
license, commercial

(a) Except as provided in Subsections (b) and (c) of this section, a person who violates a provision of this subchapter [Subchapter 
C. Oyster Licenses] or a regulation of the commission issued under this subchapter commits an offense that is a Class C Parks 
and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(b) A person who violates Section 76.101 [Oyster Licenses Required] . . . of this code or a regulation of the commission issued 
under [that section] commits an offense that is a Class B Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(d) Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate offense.
(e) If it is shown at the trial of a defendant for a violation of Section 76.101 . . . of this code that the defendant has been 
convicted once within fi ve years before the trial date of a violation of Section 76.101 . . . of this code, the defendant is guilty 
of a Class A Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(f) If it is shown at the trial of a defendant for a violation of Section 76.101 . . . of this code that the defendant has been 
convicted two or more times within fi ve years before the trial date of a violation of Section 76.101 . . . of this code, the 
defendant is guilty of a Parks and Wildlife Code felony.
[Statutory Authority: Section 76.118, Parks and Wildlife Code]

(a) If a vessel licensed as a commercial oyster boat is involved in a violation of this chapter, the captain of the vessel licensed as 
a commercial oyster boat is primarily responsible for the violation. A member of the crew of a vessel licensed as a commercial 
oyster boat is not guilty of a violation unless the member of the crew committed the violation against the captain’s orders, 
except for a violation of Section 76.109 [Night Dredging Prohibited] of this subchapter, in which case each person on the 
vessel is responsible for the violation.
(b) The owner of a vessel licensed as a commercial oyster boat involved in a violation of this chapter is not guilty of the 
violation unless the owner knowingly directed, authorized, permitted, agreed to, aided, or acquiesced in the violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 76.119, Parks and Wildlife Code]

Party boat operator license (a) A person who violates or fails to comply with any provision of this chapter, or who violates or fails to comply with a 
proclamation of the commission entered under this chapter or a city ordinance or order of a commissioners court or a political 
subdivision of the state made or entered under this chapter, commits an offense that is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code 
misdemeanor.
(b) A person who violates Section 31.043(c) [prohibiting a person from intentionally or knowingly tampering with the 
manufacturer’s identifi cation number on a vessel’s hull, an outboard motor serial number, or a hull identifi cation number 
or serial number issued by the department or from possessing a vessel with such an altered number] or 31.096 [Reckless 
Operation and Excessive Speed] of this code commits an offense that is a Class B Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(c) Except as provided by Subsection (f), a person who operates a vessel in violation of Section 31.021(b) [prohibiting the 
operation of a vessel without the required identifi cation number on the vessel and without a valid certifi cate of number] or 
31.095 [Excessive Speed] commits an offense punishable by a fi ne of not less than $100 or more than $500.
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Party boat operator license 
(continued)

(d) The operator of a vessel who is involved in a collision, accident, or other casualty that results in death or serious bodily 
injury to another person and fails to comply with Section 31.104 [Accidents: Duty of Operators] commits an offense that is 
a Parks and Wildlife Code felony.
(e) Except as provided by Subsection (d), the operator of a vessel who is involved in a collision, accident, or other casualty and 
fails to comply with Section 31.104 commits an offense that is a Class A Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
(f) A court may dismiss a charge of operating a vessel with an expired certifi cate of number under Section 31.021 [Required 
Numbering] if:

(1) the defendant remedies the defect not later than the 10th working day after the date of the offense and pays an 
administrative fee not to exceed $10; and

(2) the certifi cate of number has not been expired for more than 60 days.
[Statutory Authority: Section 31.127, Parks and Wildlife Code]

Private bird hunting area license A person who violates any provision of this subchapter [Subchapter F. Private Bird Hunting Areas] or a regulation of the 
commission under this subchapter commits an offense that is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 43.077, Parks and Wildlife Code]

Raptor propagator’s permit A person who violates a provision of this chapter commits an offense that is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 49.017, Parks and Wildlife Code]
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Notes

  1 All statutory penalties for violations of provisions relating to licenses issued by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department are criminal penalties; however, Section 12.402, Parks 
and Wildlife Code, states that provisions relating to punishments for such violations do not deprive a court of law from imposing a civil penalty, which may be included in the 
court’s sentence.  The information in this table refl ects penalties in effect in FY 07; however, the penalties have not changed to date.

 2 Sections 12.403 to 12.410, Parks and Wildlife Code, set out the classifi cation of offenses for violations of Parks and Wildlife Code provisions and the scope of punishments for 
those offenses.
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